February 09, 2021

Invitations accepted to 2021 Genesis Invitational

As the field for the 2021 Genesis Invitational takes shape, the world’s best golfers once again have circled Riviera on their calendars. Let’s take a look at a few players who have accepted invitations to compete at Riviera during the 2021 tournament.

Sifford Exemption recipients
Willie Mack III joins the esteemed list of Charlie Sifford Memorial Exemption recipients to tee it up at Riviera. For Mack, it will be his second start on the PGA TOUR. Joining Mack in the field are past Sifford Exemption recipients Harold Varner III (2014) and Cameron Champ (2018).

Collegiate Showcase winners
Every year since 2015, The Genesis Invitational Collegiate Showcase has allowed for a collegiate golfer to earn an exemption into the tournament field. This year is no different. This year, there will be three past collegiate showcase champions in the field as the 2021 winner will be joined by Scottie Scheffler (2018) and Will Zalatoris (2015). Scheffler returns to Rivera as the reigning PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year while Zalatoris returns having racked up four top-10 finishes in his eight starts on TOUR this season.

Genesis Championship winner
Can Tae Hoon Kim become a two-time Genesis champion? Kim won The Genesis Championship in Korea this past October and in doing so, secured a place in the 2021 Genesis Invitational field. Kim’s six-under for the tournament helped him to a two-shot victory at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea.

US Amateur champions
Each year, the defending US Amateur champion receives an exemption into The Genesis Invitational Field. Tyler Strafaci, the 2020 US Amateur champion, will tee it up at Riviera in 2021 along with the previous four winners who are also in the field. Strafaci is joined by Andy Ogletree (2019), Viktor Hovland (2018) and Doc Redman (2017). Redman’s victory came at Riviera. In addition to the four reigning US Amateur champions, other players to have won the US Amateur and are committed to play at Riviera include Bryson DeChambeau (2015), Matthew Fitzpatrick (2013), Danny Lee (2008) and Matt Kuchar (1997).

Commitments listed above as of Feb. 9, 2021

Player commitments are not official until the commitment deadline on Friday, February 12. Commitments and the player field can change at any time.