Supporting Our Youth

Each year, this legendary event makes a significant impact in the Southern California community. Youth benefit annually through access to the game of golf during The Genesis Invitational, in addition to the thousands of local students participating in STEM education and college-access programs of TGR Foundation.

Making an Impact

TGR Foundation supports thousands of students in Southern California through various STEM education and college-access programs. Thanks to the generous support of the sponsors, fans and volunteers of Los Angeles, TGR Foundation continues to expand its reach to students and educators in LA through the Earl Woods Scholar Program and TGR EDU: Create professional development workshops.


Earl Woods Scholars from Southern California to date


Students attending TGR Learning Lab in Anaheim, CA per year


Teachers reached through TGR EDU: Create in So Cal

Charlie Sifford Memorial Exemption

Representing the advancement of diversity in the game of golf, the Charlie Sifford Memorial Exemption is awarded annually at The Genesis Invitational to a golfer representing a minority background. The exemption has been given annually for nearly a decade, but was renamed in 2017 to honor the memory of Charlie Sifford.

“The Sifford family is tremendously honored for the recognition of our father’s accomplishments by TGR Foundation and The Genesis Invitational,” Charles Sifford Jr. said. “We are most certain he would beam with pride and gratitude for this momentous honor of the diversity exemption in his name. It is really special coming from Tiger, knowing the bond that developed between him and my father.”

“I’m incredibly proud to honor my hero Charlie Sifford through this exemption into The Genesis Invitational,” tournament host Tiger Woods said. “His sacrifices as a pioneer for golf allowed me to play the game.”

In 2020, Joseph Bramlett became the first two-time recipient of the exemption.

Previous exemption recipients include

  • Joseph Bramlett (2020, 2011)
  • Timothy O’Neal (2019)
  • Cameron Champ (2018)
  • Kevin Hall (2017)
  • J.J. Spaun (2016)
  • Carlos Sainz, Jr. (2015)
  • Harold Varner III (2014)
  • Jeremiah Wooding (2013)
  • Andy Walker (2012)
  • Joshua Wooding (2010)
  • Vincent Johnson (2009)