February 02, 2021

Elevated winners commit to 2021 Genesis Invitational

As the field for the 2021 Genesis Invitational takes shape, the world’s best golfers once again have circled Riviera on their calendars. Let’s take a look at the players committed to the 2021 tournament who are past winners at Riviera or have won an elevated tournament.

Winners at Riviera

  • Adam Scott – after earning an unofficial victory in 2005 at Riviera – a tournament cut short to only 36 holes due to weather – Adam Scott made things official in 2020. A leaderboard packed at the top with names like McIlroy, Kuchar, Homa, DeChambeau and more, it was Scott who was able to best conquer the windy conditions and lightning-fast greens on Sunday.
  • J.B. Holmes – steady play during four full rounds helped J.B. Holmes earn a win at Riviera in 2019. The week got off to a fast start as Holmes carded a hole-in-one on the sixth hole during his first round. The rest of the way, steady putting and carefully reading the greens during extremely windy conditions helped hold off charges from Justin Thomas and a stacked field.
  • Bubba Watson – after his tee shot landed in the greenside bunker on the 14th hole during Sunday’s final round of the 2018 tournament, things looked down for Bubba Watson. With one swing from the sand, and the ball finding the hole, momentum shifted and Watson walked in the final few holes to earn his third career victory at Riviera, having also won in 2014 and 2016. With the victory, Watson became one of only a handful of players to record three wins at Riviera.
  • Doc Redman – to win the US Amateur title, it takes two rounds of match-play. For Doc Redman at Riviera in the 2017 US Amateur, it took clutch puts on the 35th and 36th holes to even force a playoff against Doug Ghim. After making pressure putts to force a playoff, a well-struck iron shot led to an easy playoff victory for Redman at Riviera.
  • Dustin Johnson – lots of rain might have slowed down the field in 2017, but not Dustin Johnson. Playing two full rounds on Sunday also didn’t seem to bother Johnson as he cruised to a five-shot victory and with the win moved into the top spot on the Official World Golf Ranking.
  • James Hahn – going toe-to-toe with Dustin Johnson in a playoff to earn your first career PGA TOUR victory is an ending only possible in Los Angeles. For James Hahn, that’s exactly how the 2015 tournament came to an end. With birdies on both playoff holes – the par-4 10th and par-3 14th – Hahn outlasted Johnson in a playoff duel for the ages.
  • Dylan Frittelli & Jordan Spieth – as a senior on the University of Texas men’s golf team, Dylan Frittelli was the elder statesman on the Longhorn’s team. In the 2012 NCAA Men’s Golf Championship held at Riviera, Frittelli, Spieth and the Longhorns went up against the University of Alabama. With matchups that included Spieth vs Alabama’s Justin Thomas, it was Frittelli sunk the winning putt to give the Longhorns the team title.
  • Charlies Howell III – for the third time in his career, Charles Howell III headed to a playoff when he faced Phil Mickelson at Riviera with the title on the line. The previous two times Howell had been in a playoff, he came out on the wrong end, including against Mike Weir in 2003 at Riviera. 2007 was a different outcome for Howell as he made par on all three playoff holes to earn the win. Even more incredible about the win is Howell was down four shots with only nine holes to play, just to force the playoff.
  • Rory Sabbatini – with a four-shot lead after 54 holes, Rory Sabbatini found himself tied with Adam Scott with only six holes to play. On the par-3 16th hole, Sabbatini made bridie and was able to hold on to finish ahead of the defending champion Scott and two-time champion Fred Couples to earn the win in 2006.

Winners of the Arnold Palmer Invitational

  • Francesco Molinari – 2019
  • Marc Leishman – 2018
  • Martin Laird – 2011

Winners of The Memorial

  • Jon Rahm – 2020
  • Patrick Cantlay – 2019
  • Bryson DeChambeau – 2018
  • Hideki Matsuyama – 2014
  • Matt Kuchar – 2013
  • Jim Furyk – 2002

World Golf Championship winners

  • Justin Thomas – 2020 & 2018 Invitational
  • Dustin Johnson – 2019, 2017 & 2015 Championship; 2017 Match Play; 2016 Invitational; 2013 Champions
  • Brooks Koepka – 2019 Invitational
  • Bubba Watson – 2018, Match Play; 2014 Champions
  • Xander Schauffele – 2018 Champions
  • Hideki Matsuyama – 2017 Invitational; 2016 Champions
  • Adam Scott – 2016 Championship; 2011 Invitational
  • Russell Knox – 2015 Champions
  • Matt Kuchar – 2013 Match Play
  • Francesco Molinari – 2010 Champions
  • Stewart Cink – 2004 Invitational

Commitments listed above as of Feb. 2, 2021

Player commitments are not official until the commitment deadline on Friday, February 12. Commitments and the player field can change at any time.